Omega Dubai Ladies Masters. Liz Young and Carmen Alonso Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

Liz Young and Carmen Alonso are tied st the top of the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters leaderboard in Dubai, at the Emirates Golf Club.

 Omega Dubai Ladies Masters

Liz Young / Getty Images

Liz and Carmen both carded first rounds of -6 under par 66 on the first day of the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters tournament, to sit on top of the leaderboard.

Liz was pleased with today’s effort, especially as she has been concentrating on those dreaded lengthy putts;

“I’m really pleased with today.”

“I’ve been practicing the 12 foot putts and it’s just the feeling of the ball going in the hole, working on your stroke, because it’s been so windy and cold at home in England.”

“Considering my tour average this year was 31, that was pretty good, 25 putts and 15 greens hit.”

“I’ve been striking it well all year but haven’t been able to put the numbers together. I had a good finish in India a few weeks ago but I’ve been a bit disappointed with my season considering how good my swing’s got compared to last year.”

“The start of every tournament, my goal is to win it. I know I’ve got to play good golf, and especially this tournament, there are a lot of good golfers playing here, and higher ranked than me, but I feel that I can win.”

Carmen nearly gave up playing golf two months ago, because of the illness to her mother;

“I had my full card, but this year has been tough, because my mum had lung cancer.”

“She had an operation in October and now everything is good.”

“Sometimes you lose your happiness on the golf course.’

“Since she’s recovered and I have a good team around me, I’m happy to play again. To be in Dubai, with the sunshine and shoot a 66 in the first round: happy.”

Shanshan Feng has third place to herself, at -5 under par, an opening round 67 keeping her just one shot off the lead;

“I think my ball‑striking was pretty good, so I had a lot of birdie chances.”

” Made some and missed some.  But I still think 5‑under is a good score.”

Dame Laura Davies shares fourth place with Elisa Serramia, both at -4 under after rounds of 68.

Dame Laura only needed 27 putts today, and was happy with a good start to the competition;

“I feel like it’s a course I should do well on.”

” The first few years, I think I finished second, third and fourth.”

” Since then I’ve had some missed cuts and average finishes.  It’s a course I would like to think I could do well on.”

” This is a good start but that’s all it is: a good start.”

Leave a Reply

