Omega Dubai Ladies Masters. Feng Flies on “Pink Friday”

White Dragon Golf

Shanshan Feng flies on Pink Friday at the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters, and will take a five shot lead into the final round tomorrow at Emirates Golf Club, in Dubai. There was pink flagsticks and even pink tees ,the entire golf course glowed with the color that is now recognised as the color of breast cancer awareness and research. Players, caddies, officials and many spectators turned up in pink to support the noble cause.

 Omega Dubai Ladies Masters

Shanshan Feng / Getty Images

Shanshan shot another round of -5 under par 67 to lead the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters at -15 under par. She started the day with five birdies on the front nine, with two bogey’s and two birdies on the back, as she moves towards winning this event for a record third time;

“Today, I think the front nine was really good. I had many birdie chances and a lot of them were really close.”

“The back nine, well, I made a couple bogeys there. I think it just happens.”

“It’s normal because the day was a little bit more wind. So human beings, we’re going to make mistakes.”

“After that, I was happy that I made birdie on the 17th,”

“I didn’t think the back nine was easy. I think the back nine, maybe I misjudged the wind a couple of times. And then there was one poor drive on the 12th hole.”

Thidapa Suwannapura is now in second place, at -10 under par, a third round -7 under 65 shooting her up the leaderboard;

“Today I just see the line and my caddie, Matt, he’s my friend, and he can see the same thing as me.”

“Like, yeah, I like it, just knock it, and it’s in. I’m like, yay. Just keep going.”

“It’s not easy out there. I’m not expecting anything. I’m just hitting balls and trying to knock it on the green. Just par is fine for me.”

Jade Schaeffer returned a -2 under 70 third round to end the day four strokes back in third position with a -6 under tournament total, and was happy with that;

“I’m very happy, because I don’t play a lot of tournaments this year and I’m just training a lot with a new coach.”

“I’m so happy now that it’s working good. Just my head, I feel very well and I hope tomorrow is good, too.”

Dame Laura Davies slumped with a +5 over 77 third round score, which dropped her to 10th place on her own at -3 under for the competition.

Leave a Reply

