BMW South African Open. Storms Stop Second Round.

White Dragon Golf

Storms stopped the second round of the BMW South African Open, at Glendower Golf Club, with some players having only just started their rounds. Currently on top of the leaderboard is Keith Horne, with a completed second round, but Branden Grace is alongside, and he has only played eleven holes.

BMW South African Open

Branden Grace / Getty Images

Keith carded a completed bogey free second round -3 under par 69 at the BMW South African Open, to post a -8 under par tournament total. Branden is -5 under today, having completed only eleven holes before the storms stopped play for the day, he too is at -8 under in the competition.

Keith stated that he was very happy with play today, and also to be on top of the leaderboard;

“You can’t complain when you’re leading the SA Open. No matter what they do I’m happy with my first two days.”

“Whether they go past me or way past me, there are still two days to go so we’ll concentrate on that and I’m very happy with eight under after two days.”

“I just hung in there and managed to make three birdies, no bogeys, and I think that was the key, keeping the bogeys off my card.”

“I didn’t make a lot of birdies, but as long as you keep the bogeys off the card you feel like the momentum is still with you.”

“The one disappointing thing I had today was that I played all the par fives; I parred all of them. They were all reachable except for thirteen.”

“They were all reachable in two so that was a little disappointing, but other than that I’m pretty chuffed with my game.”

Sitting in third place on the leaderboard at -7 under par is Jbe Kruger, he finished his second round  scoring -2 under par 70 to today.

33 players had to return to the Glendower course this morning to complete their first rounds before the weather halted play once again. Play will resume at 0630 local time tomorrow, and lets hope the tournament gets back on schedule.

Leave a Reply

