Joburg Open. Justin Walters Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Justin Walters leads after the first round of the Joburg Open, at the Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club, using both the East and West courses.

Joburg Open

Justin Walters / Getty Images

Justin was very happy with his -7 under par 65 gleaned from the tougher East course, for his opening round on the 10th anniversary of this tournament;

“I’m able to take advantage of the par fives. I tend to do that regularly somehow and hopefully I can continue to do that.”

“I generally build it around the par fives, and if I can play those well and sprinkle a few in here and there around that, then I’m generally quite happy.”

“I have a lot of good memories here. And having qualified for the Open here two years ago, I really enjoy playing here, I enjoy playing in Joburg, and I just kind of feel at home somewhat.”

“Every time you come here, you build new memories and you have more to draw on when you’re kind of in the same position. Historically this golf course is always quite tight.”

“Both courses, if you play well offer a lot of birdies and generally, out of a 200-man field, you’re going to have 30 or 40 guys that are going to play a good round of golf.”

“It’s really hard to separate yourself on these two courses, so I expect more of the same over the week.”

Tied in second place are  Michael Jonzon, Johan Carlsson and Haydn Porteous, all signed of -6 under par 66, also on the par 72 East course.

Joining them on that score are David Howell, Anthony Wall and Mark Williams who all posted -6 under par 65 on the easier par 71 West course.

Leave a Reply

