Joburg Open. Three Players Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are three players tied at the top of the Joburg Open leaderboard after three rounds at Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club in South Africa. Anthony Wall, Zander Lombard and Hayden Porteous will take a two shot lead into the final round tomorrow.

Joburg Open

Anthony Wall / Getty Images

Anthony is searching for only his second win on the European Tour at the Joburg Open, sixteen years after his first victory. He carded -4 under par 68 on the East course, and joins Hayden and Zander at the top of the leaderboard on -15 under par for the competition, and a two shot lead over the field going into the final round tomorrow.

Everyone played the East course today, with Zander posting  one of the low rounds of the day -7 under par 65, and Hayden -4 under 68.

Anthony is determined to make his children proud of him;

“That’s why I play golf now, to try and make my children proud of me, to try and win as many times as possible.”

“At the end of the day I’m father now before I am a golfer, that switched a few years ago and I just want to keep playing for them and my wife so they can be proud of me.”

“I drove the ball well. That was my weakness the first two days, today I was great off the tee. I holed a couple of good long ones, but I also missed three or four I could have holed, so all-in-all it was a good day.”

“I’ve got a great chance tomorrow. But they’re all good players, someone’s going to be a little luckier tomorrow and win, so hopefully it’s me.”

Four players share fourth spot at -13 under par for the tournament, Ross McGowan, who slipped back today with a +1 over par round, Jacques Blaauw -5 under 67,  Daniel Im, who shared the low round score today -7 under, and Paul Dunne -4 under 68, in his eighth start on Tour.

This competition is very tight and anyone who comes up with low round tomorrow could jump up and take the title, it should be an exciting final round at the Royal Johannesburg & Kensington Golf Club.

Leave a Reply

