Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship. Bryson DeChambeau Leads,

White Dragon Golf

American amateur player  Bryson DeChambeau leads after the first round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship, keeping cool in the hot conditions at Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

 Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship

Bryson DeChambeau / Getty Images

Bryson shot  a first round -8 under par 64 to lead the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship by one shot, and he had fun playing carefree golf and dropping some putts. He is known as a golfing scientist, and has all his irons fitted with the same length shaft;

“It’s nice to kind of be an intern as an amateur playing professional events.”

“I’m getting used to it and getting more comfortable each event. It’s a lot of fun being out here.”

“I had no expectations coming into today and just free-wheeled it and pretty much hit every fairway and was able to make a couple of putts.”

“I’m a golfing scientist, in a sense, and I’m trying to analyse and understand each and every aspect of the golf course and the way I played.”

“I’ll analyse today and see what I can do better at tomorrow and we’ll go from there.”

Henrik Stenson is in second place, with a -7 under par opening round, he too was very happy, and knows this course really well;

“Very happy with the opening round. I haven’t played well here in Abu Dhabi the previous two years, so it’s nice to get off to solid starts.”

“I made Dubai my home for almost ten years and feel very comfortable in this part of the world and played some great golf, so it would mean a lot.”

“I came very close, especially the first edition of the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship in 2006. I think I lost out by a shot to Chris DiMarco. It would be nice to get this one and get the full circle.”

“I could have been one or two shots lower even, or possibly one worse off on the last, as well. You have to be lucky, I didn’t hit the best tee ball there.”

“I’ve been going about my business and working away on a few things and that seemed to be working okay on the course today.

“As we know, it was going to be a challenge with the leg, and it is. It’s not so much the knee; it’s the foot that makes a bit more of a compensation when I’m walking but we are getting there in the end. I made the full 18.”

Lurking in third place , at -6 under par is the awesome presence of Rory McIlroy, he shares the position with Branden Grace.

 

Leave a Reply

