Career Builder Challenge. Four-Way Tie at the Top

White Dragon GolfCareerBuilder Challenge in partnership with the Clinton Foundation Logo

There is a four-way tie in the first round of the Career Builder Challenge, Jason Dufner, Jerry Kelly, Jeff Overton and Anirban Lahiri share top honors in this two course challenge.

 Career Builder Challenge

Jason Dufner / Getty Images

Jason and Jeff  both shot -8 under par 64 on the The Nicklaus Tournament Course.  course, while Jerry and Anirban carded the same score on the La Quinta Country Club Course.

Jason came here before he went to the Sony Open and played both courses;

“I came out before I went to Sony and played these golf courses, both of them, twice.”

Jeff does not have good memories of the Tournament Course;

“I had very kind of sour vibes coming into this place, because I really like the ones we played last couple years.”

“I think I wound up playing 11 tournaments in a row my first year on tour and had to come back to Q-school.”

“I played here and I was so tired and hit it so bad. I just remember playing really awful.”

Jerry thinks the La Quinta course is the tough one;

“In the past, this has been the tough golf course.”

“So, it was strange just how the mindset changes when this becomes the so-called easier one and you have to get it.”

Anirban is still trying to get over the jet lag from travelling from Asia;

“Obviously, still feeling all the travel from coming from Asia, but really happy with the way I hit the ball.”

“I don’t think I missed a green all day.”

Sharing fifth place at -7 under par are Jamie Lovemark, -7 under at La Quinta and Colt Knost with the same score on the Tournament Course.

Defending champion Bill Haas and also the 2010 winner, shot -6 under at La Quinta, in this event which used to be the Bob Hope Classic.

Phil Mickelson returned to golf after a long lay off, carding -4 under at La Quinta, but he is still struggling with the putter;

“I’ve had a lot of time off.”

“It was fun to get back into the swing of it. We had a beautiful day here. Weather’s spectacular.”

“Golf course was great. I had a good solid round.”

“I felt good with my game, I didn’t feel like I was fighting it. I was able to kind of let it go.”

“I didn’t hit a lot of shots really close, I just hit it kind of OK. Didn’t putt great. But I had a couple of shots that I holed out.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

