CareerBuilder Challenge. Dufners Delight At Play-Off Win

White Dragon GolfCareerBuilder

Delight lit up the face of Jason Dufner as he won the CareerBuilder Challenge, via a play-off, in California.

CareerBuilder Challenge

Jason, pictured above, carded a final round -2 under par 70, to tie David Lingmerth at the top of the CareerBuilder Challenge at -25 under par. David had scored a marvelous -7 under 65 to get into the play-offs. Jason tasted victory with a par on the second extra hole, the par four 18th, on the Stadium Course.

Jason spoke about feeling one of the best players in the world, especially escaping from the rocks on the 17th to make par;

“This is the best Tour in the world.”

“So for me to win here this week, I felt one of the best players in the world.”

“I’m fortunate to be in this position, and playing good golf again.”

“I’m out here to win tournaments. It doesn’t matter when I won them or when the last time was, I’m showing up to win tournaments this year and play good golf every week.”

“It was tough today.”

David found the rough from the tee on the second play-off hole, and from there into the rocks and water;

“In the rough, didn’t choke up enough on the club, the grass just grabbed it a little bit, which makes the ball turn over.”

“It wasn’t a bad swing, just a mistake on my part.”

Three players tied for third place at -21 under, Andrew Loupe, Kevin Na and Phil Mickelson, all returning last round scores of -4 under par 68.

Phil was really happy with his progress;

“I’m excited, this is a really good week for me, for validation that I am on the right track.”

“It’s continuing to get better and better as the weeks, days, years go on, because I’m back on plane and the touch should start to come back.”

Leave a Reply

