Singapore Open. Keith Horne Leads the Star Studded Field.

White Dragon GolfSingapore Open

 

 

South African Keith Horne leads the star studded Singapore Open after the first round as bad weather halts play.

Singapore Open

Keith Horne / Getty Images

Keith is the clubhouse leader in the play suspended Singapore Open, with a -5 under par 66 first round, good putting making the difference;

“I’m really happy with my result today as I haven’t played here for a couple of years. But whenever I do come over here, I generally play well.”

“I putted great today which was important. I put a new driver in the bag today and I hit it so far and straight and that made a huge difference.”

Following him closely is World number one Jordan Spieth at -4 under, sharing second place with  An Byeonghun.

Jordan was frustrated with his round;

“Given some of the positions I was in off the tee it was a little frustrating.”

“From there I could not quite get it on the right tier of the green or the right distance.”

“My distance control was just off trying to judge the wind, humidity and the heat. We just struggled a bit with that.”

“I didn’t get many looks at putts for birdie. I didn’t get the ball inside 15 feet. I had plenty of opportunities to do that.”

Play was suspended twice  because of lightning and the first round will restart at 7.30am on Friday morning with 57 players still to complete 18 holes.

 

Leave a Reply

