Farmers Insurance Open. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfFarmers Insurance Open

There are two players tied at the top of the Farmers Insurance Open leaderboard after 36 holes. Gary Woodland and KJ Choi share the honors.

K.J. Choi has eight TOUR wins in his career. His last victory came at the 2011 PLAYERS Championship. (Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images)

KJ Choi / Getty Images

Gary and KJ lead the Farmers Insurance Open with -9 under par totals, Gary -5 under 67 on the South Course with KJ posting the same number on the North.

Gary is a long driver of the ball;

“When I drive the ball in the fairway out here I’m having some short irons into par fours, I’m having mid-irons into some of these par fives.”

“So when I drive the ball like I did today, good things are happening right now.”

Dustin Johnson holds third place on his own at -8 under par, -6 under par 66 today on the North Course helping him up the leaderboard. He said driving is the key;

“If you look at the winners here, they’re all over the board, as far as length.”

“But you’ve got to drive it straight. And right now I feel like I’m driving my driver very straight, so that’s definitely a key.”

Phil Mickelson did not make the expected charge, instead he shot 76 to miss the cut;

“After that good round yesterday on the South Course, I thought, `I’m going to go to the North Course and really light it up.’ I think I tried to force the issue a little bit.”

“When I wasn’t under par early, I kind of started to press a little bit. But that stuff happens.”

Jason Day the defending Champion, and #2 in the world missed the cut, the long lay-off proving to be the culprit;

“You can’t live and die by one week.”

“It’s not going to be the last cut I’m going to miss. Hopefully, it is the last cut I’m going to miss this year, but once again it’s a process.”

“I got to keep working hard and hopefully that delayed gratification is a lot more sweeter at the end of the year than it is right now.”

Justin Rose and Paul Casey also joined the big names on the early bus home.

 

Leave a Reply

