Omega Dubai Desert Classic. Alex Noren Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Alex Noren leads the Omega Dubai Desert Classic after the fist round at  the Emirates Golf Club.

Omega Dubai Desert Classic

Alex Noren / Getty Images

Alex shot a first round -6 under par 66 to take an unexpected lead in the Omega Dubai Desert Classic;

“I hit a lot of good shots but a few bad shots and got away with it, and then you end up with 66.”

“I’m very happy, I didn’t really expect it and then it feels even better.”

“I was very happy when it was all over because it didn’t feel that good warming up. I hit my irons really good all day, pretty average driving.”

“It was tough on a few holes, a lot of draws here and I don’t like to draw it. So I’m really happy.”

“I hit a lot of fades off the tee, and here you know it’s a drawer’s course. So you feel a bit down as a fader.”

“But you just have to accept it and maybe play less aggressive on some holes.”

Four players are sharing second place, just one stroke back at -5 under par,  Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Brett Rumford, Trevor Fisher Jnr and Peter Hanson all carded opening rounds of 67.

There is then a large group of eight players at -4 under par, including Rory McIlroy, a two-time winner here and also the defending champion. Three-time champion Ernie Els and 2011 winner Alvaro Quiros are also in this group with their opening rounds of 68.

Rory was pretty happy with today’s result, it was a bad bogey start on #10;

“I thought I did well, considering the start, and some of the shots I hit today.”

“A 68 was probably a fair reflection of how I played.”

“I don’t think I really could have gone any lower than that.”

“But at the same time I gave myself enough chances to make birdies.”

 

Leave a Reply

