Waste Management Phoenix Open. Hideki Beats Rickie In Play-Off

White Dragon GolfPhoenix Open

 

Hideki Matsuyama beat Rickie Fowler in a play-off for the Waste Management Phoenix Open title at TPC Scottsdale.

Waste Management Phoenix Open

Hideki Matsuyama / Rob Schumaker

Hideki, from Japan, and Rickie went through a play-off lasting four holes, 18 twice, then 10 and the last was 17,  where Rickie made bogey to end the contest.

 

Both players had finished the Waste Management Phoenix Open with -14 under par totals, and both of them carded -4 under par 67 in the final round, forcing them into the play-off.

Rickie had his whole family out in support, plus of course the partisan galleries, and Hideki was aware of who they wanted to win;

“They were for Rickie, weren’t they?”

 “I’d say 99 percent of the gallery were cheering hard for Rickie. That gave me the motivation to go out and do it.”

“Even after the 15th  it didn’t look very good, and then Rickie opened the door for me and I was able to walk through it. It feels really good.”

Rickie got all emotional after the loss;

“I mean, the hard part is having, you know, all my friends and family and grandpa and my dad who haven’t seen me win.”

 “I’ll be all right. With how good I’m playing, I know I can win. That’s the hard part.”

Harris English was in third place, at -12 under par for the tournament, two off the pace set by the leaders.

Danny Lee faltered in the last round, shooting +2 over par 73 to end his hope of lifting the trophy, returning a final total of -11 under par, and fourth spot on his own.

Phil Mickelson could only manage a last round of even par, and T11, no barnstorming finish from him, the putter was not working;

“I tried on the front nine to get to some of these pins, and I kept short-siding myself and shot 1 over, and realized you just can’t force it out there.”

” It didn’t help that his putter cooled after a hot, six-birdie third round. He made 125 feet of putts on Saturday, and less than half of that (58 feet) on Sunday, when he needed 31 putts, his high for the week.”

“I hit a lot of good shots, I didn’t shoot the number this week probably that I felt I could, or should, but I feel my game is right where I want it.”

 

Leave a Reply

