New Zealand Women’s Open. Nicole Broch Larsen Leads

White Dragon Golf

Nicole Broch Larsen, from Denmark, leads the New Zealand Women’s Open after the first round at  Clearwater Golf Club on the South Island in New Zealand.

 New Zealand Women’s Open

Nicole Broch Larsen / Getty Images

Nicole a first round -6 under par 66 to lead the New Zealand Women’s Open by one shot. She said afterwards that playing in front of large crowds does not bother her, and she expects Lydia Ko to chase her down;

“I have been in contention quite a bit the past couple of years and since I broke through for my first win I feel much more comfortable with the crowds and playing in the leading groups.”

“When she’s not on the leaderboard, you wait for her to come there, I’m sure she’ll be up there at the weekend.”

French rookie Justine Dreher has second place all to herself at -5 under par after her opening effort of 67.

Tied in third position are Gwladys Nocera and Pamela Pretswell, both recording first rounds of -4 under par.

Defending champion, and World #1 Lydia Ko is sharing 5th place with another Kiwi, Cathryn Bristow, both ladies at -3 following their rounds of 69.

Lydia struggled with her putting today;

“If I have a good read then I need to put a good stroke on it.”

“There were question marks in my head when I went to hit the putt.”

“You need to be right there to put a good stroke on it. I doubted myself a little bit and got angry in some sense.”

Leave a Reply

