New Zealand Women’s Open. Lydia Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Ko wins the New Zealand Women’s Open at Clearwater Golf Club in Christchurch.

New Zealand Women's Open

Lydia Ko with the NZ Open trophy / Getty Images

Defending Champion Lydia took control of the New Zealand Women’s Open with a final round -2 under par 70, to post -10 under par winning total, and a two shot victory.

There was some drama before Lydia started her final round when an earthquake hit Christchurch, lasting for about 20 seconds.

“It was interesting, I’ve never been on a golf course where there is an earthquake.”

“It was a lucky I wasn’t out there playing because I wouldn’t want to be in the middle of my swing and the ball moves somewhere else.”

“I thought it was pretty cool.” 

“I had my earphones on so I didn’t know if I was getting in the rhythm of the song,  [caddie] Jason thought it was the beer kicking in from last night so there was a lot of thoughts.”

“To defend a tournament is one thing but to play well in your national open in front of so many people here makes it extra special.”

“It is a week to remember.”

There were three ladies tied in second position at -8 under par, Felicity Johnson, -5 under 67 today, South Korean amateur Hye Jin Choi, -3 under 69, and Nanna Koerstz Madsen, -2 under 70 today.

 

Leave a Reply

