Tshwane Open. Schwaetzel Has 54 Hole Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Charl Schwartzel holds the 54 hole lead at the Tshwane Open in South Africa.

Tshwane Open

Charl Schwartzel / Getty Images

Charl shot -4 under par 66 in the third round of the Tshwane Open, and will take a one shot lead into the final round tomorrow with a -9 under par total.

He said it was nice to be playing well, and at home, especially being in contention once again;

“In a way it’s pleasing to me to see that the consistency of the long game is coming back and it’s just nice to be in contention.”

“I hit the ball really well. I think I only missed two greens and I gave myself a lot of chances for birdie.”

“It’s very close up there and it’s still going to come down to tomorrow and who actually just shoots the best score.”

“That’s what it’s going to be so I’m looking forward to it.” 

“I love playing at home on golf courses I’m familiar with, in front of familiar faces. We don’t get to do that very often, so it’s nice.”

Zander Lombard holds second place at -7 under par, he carded a splendid bogey free-7 under par 63 which put him firmly in contention. Good putting was the key for him today;

“I just had a great round.”

“I put together some solid putts and kept it in the right places again. I managed to keep the bogeys off the card and really put a solid score together.”

It’s an all South African top three as Haydn Porteous and Anthony Michael share third place, both at -6 under par for the tournament. Haydn -2 under 68 today, Anthony slipped back with a poor effort of +1 over par 71.

Nearest non South African is the wonderfully named Toby Tree, from England, but he is back at -4 under, and T5 with Dean Burmester.

Charl is the form horse in this race, and I expect him to go on and win.

Leave a Reply

