Handa Women’s Australian Open. Record Round For Soobin Kim.

White Dragon Golf

Soobin Kim  carded a record round of 63 to lead the first round of the Women’s Australian Open.

Women's Australian Open

Soobin Kim / Getty Images

Soobin set the record with a first round -9 under par 63 to lead the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open, and said she had been excited to get back into golf after a long absence from the Tour, and her putting was amazing;

 “I had a really long off-season but I’m just really excited to come back on Tour and start playing with the girls.”

“I think it’s just the beginning and I think it’s a good beginning.”

“I was just picking my line and rolling them in, let the ball do the rest.”

“My coach (Brian Jung) we were joking around and saying, let’s make 20 birdies this week and I said yeah, I like that idea, let’s keep it rolling.”

Soobin has not made up her mind whether or not to become a Canadian citizen. She has had the same coach, Brian Jung, for nine years and was part of British Columbia Golf’s junior program;

“I was definitely thinking about it but I still haven’t got the citizenship yet, still deciding.”

“Most of the Koreans they want their kids to learn English, so that was the only reason when I moved to Canada. And then golf followed after that.”

Tied in second place, three shots back of the leader, at -6 under par are American Casey Grice and German Caroline Masson, with first rounds of 66.

They are followed by  five players at -5 under, including evergreen five-time champion Karrie Webb and 1996 champion Catriona Matthew.

Defending Champion Lydia Ko had a -2 under par 70 opening round, and was happy with that score, seeing that she had putting problems;

“I’ll take it, I hit two really loose shots where it was hard to put myself in position the next time but overall I played pretty solid.”

“Not many putts dropped.”

Leave a Reply

