Northern Trust Open. Darkness Descends On Round One.

White Dragon GolfNorthern Trust Open

Darkness descends of Riviera Country Club in  Pacific Palisades, California, bringing round one to an early end.

Camilo Villegas hit 14 of 18 greens in regulation in an opening-round, 8-under 63 at Riviera CC. (Chris Condon/PGA TOUR)

Camillo Villegas / Getty Images

Camillo Villegas had a completed first round of -8 under par, after shooting 63 in the opening round of the Northern Trust Open, giving him a three shot lead.

Camillo had been working pretty hard on the mental side of the game, a great chip followed by a poor putt missing par, did not harm him too much;

“I was having trouble having my mind clear before every shot.”

“So I did a little work, just tried to free it up, tried to just kind of see the shots and react to it.”

“Somebody on the putting green said, yeah, 4-irons are stopping.”

“I’m like, what? This place was so firm on Tuesday, you’ve just got to shut the mind and remember you’re playing a totally different golf course, which is what I did.”

“Obviously it was pretty stress-free today, I hit the ball good.”

“I hit a great chip and thought I made it, and then the putt, you know what, it’s one of those, you’re not going to make every 4-footer on this golf course, and I just happened to miss the last one I had today.”

“I kept it in play. I didn’t put myself in tough positions on a golf course where you can put yourself in tough positions, and here we are, nice little 63 to get started.”

Sharing second place at -5 under par, following their first rounds of 66 are, Bubba Watson, Chez Reavie and Luke List.

Luke has taken heart from the win of Vaughn Taylor last week;

“Seeing a guy like Vaughn doing what he did last week, it shows that anybody out here can do it.”

There is a whole bunch of players tied in fifth place, at -4 under par, including Rory McIlroy, who was pleased with his round, especially his putting;

“I felt for the most part I played well, got off to a nice start,  two under through two, and that 10th hole here, you want to get off to a decent start there.”

“I would have taken a four on that 10th hole today but it was nice to make a three and get off to a good start.”

“Felt like I hit the ball pretty well from tee-to-green. Put myself out of position a couple of times, but with the way the conditions of the golf course were, it didn’t punish you as bad as if it would have been, as firm as it was the last couple of days.”

“They might have gotten a little bit slower, but I’m always wary of putting towards the ocean here because some of these putts can really get away from you.”

“Like the putt on four that I had, for example, on the front right of the green, I was really trying to get that halfway and trying to let gravity do the rest of the work.” 

“There were a lot of putts like that today that I felt like I judged very well, and maybe as the week goes on, the greens will get a bit firmer and a bit faster.”

“Feel like I adjusted well today.”

World #1 Jordan Speith is still in the doldrums, shooting +8 over par 79 today, he and his team must surely now be worried.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

