Maybank Championship Malaysia, Aussie Nathan Still Top.

White Dragon Golf

Aussie Nathan Holman stays on top of the Maybank Championship Malaysia leaderboard after 36 holes at Royal Selangor Golf Club, in Malaysia.

Nathan Holman / Getty Images

Nathan Holman / Getty Images

Nathan carded -6 under par 65 in the Maybank Championship Malaysia, and stays on top of the leaderboard at -13 under par, in his quest to get into the world top 100.

Nathan spoke of his aims, and also said his putting was very good;

“After winning at home my next aim was to win a tournament overseas, so it’s great to have the chance to tick that one off the list so soon.”

“Then looking further ahead, getting into the top 100 in the World Ranking is a realistic aim.”

“It’s why we play the game, to get ourselves in front and in with a chance of winning big tournaments.”

“When I saw I was three or four shots clear after the turn there were a few nerves, but I handled myself really well and managed to pick up a couple of birdies coming in.”

Richard Bland is two shots back at -11 under par, he carded a bogey free -6 under 65 today, and was very pleased with his play over the two days;

“Very pleased, obviously. To go round here without dropping a shot in two days takes some doing. Hopefully I can continue the run going over the weekend.”

“I’ve struck my irons as well as I have for some time.”

“I also picked up a new TaylorMade driver in Dubai, and it’s added 15 yards to my drives.”

“When you’ve got a shorter club in your hand, you can try to be a bit more aggressive.”

“Nathan’s obviously playing well, I played with him at the Dunhill and he’s a very impressive player.”

“And Danny’s also flying at the weekend, so I’m going to have to keep making birdies just to keep up.”

Danny Willett, Jorge Campillo, Soomin Lee and Miguel Tabuena share third place at -8 under par, five shots behind the leader.

Danny is suffering from fatigue, and struggled round today carding -2 under 69;

“I’m struggling a bit with my body.”

“My energy levels collapsed on the back nine, and I started making a few silly mistakes.”

“But the flags were also quite tricky today and the wind’s picking up a bit, so I can’t see the scoring being too ridiculous.”

“And I would’ve taken eight under after two rounds.”

Leave a Reply

