Maybank Championship Malaysia. Soomin Lee Leads

White Dragon Golf

Soomin Lee, from South Korea, leads the Maybank Championship Malaysia at the 54 hole stage, and will take a three shot advantage into the final round tomorrow.

Maybank Championship Malaysia

Soomin Lee / Getty Images

Soomin carded a third round -7 under par 64 to claim top spot on the Maybank Championship Malaysia leaderboard with a -15 under par total on the Royal Selangor Golf Club.

Soomin has made just 12 appearances on the Asian Tour, and admitted he will be nervous approaching the final round;

“I feel a little bit nervous thinking about the final round but I will try my best.”

“This weekend will be very good for my golf life.”

“It was very exciting. I had a good feeling this week because I like playing on this course.”

“I hit many important iron shots today. I tried to putt close to the hole but it went in so I gained some confidence on the greens.”

“I’m trying to enjoy my game and focus on my own game. If I keep my ball on the fairway then it will be good for me to try and score.”

Marcus Fraser is in second place at -12 under par, a third round -5 under par 66 keeping him within sight of the leader.

Third place belongs to Nathan Holman, at -11 under par,  he slipped back today with a poor third round score of +2 over par 73, and will have some work to do tomorrow if he wants to win this title.

Miguel Tanuena, from the Philippines is T4, at -10 under, with two other players, Jorge Campillo and Masahiro KawaMura.

A third round of -2 under 69 from Miguel was not as good as he expected;

“I got off to a good start, I was two under after two.”

“But I didn’t like how I finished the round. I finished weak and that’s not how you win tournaments.”

“You have to come out clutch and make birdies in the last few holes. Hopefully I will do that tomorrow.”

“I’m still satisfied with my position. I’m still in position to win and that’s where you want to be.”

“Hopefully I can get off to a good start tomorrow and keep it going.”

Leave a Reply

