Honda Classic. Two Tied at the Top as Play is Suspended

White Dragon GolfThe Honda Classic

There are two players tied at the top of the Honda Classic leaderboard as play was suspended due to darkness.

Sergio Garcia is tied for the lead at The Honda Classic. (Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

Sergio Garcia / Getty Images

Sergio Garcia and Michael Thompson share the first round lead, -5 under par 65, at the Honda Classic as darkness brought pay to an early end on day one at PGA National.

It’s been a while since we had anything to write about for Sergio, today he made a great Eagle at the par four 2nd hole, with an 8 iron from 142 yards, but the real excitement came after he found the water on the 6th. The lake contained an alligator and Sergio was more concerned with him than getting the ball out of the water;

“I was more worried about the alligator that was on the other side of the island than getting out of the water.”

“The ball, I could see probably half of it, so I knew that I could get it out.”

“Almost made four, which would have been a great four. I’m not going to lie, I was happy with a five.”

“I didn’t come in with a lot of confidence, for sure, you are wondering a little bit, because usually my long game, it’s up there, and even when I’m not playing great, I still can manage to get around it.”

“But last week, I felt out of sorts. I didn’t know what was going on.”

William McGirt and Rickie Fowler share second place at -4 under par after carding opening rounds of 66.

Rickie was happy to have had an afternoon tee time, because the wind had died down some by then, but he really needed to have putted better;

“I think we got a good break playing in the afternoon today.”

“I think the wind laid down a little bit for us. I know the guys had a tough time this morning and the course was not easy.”

“Still didn’t play easy out there for us. I felt like I swung it really well tee-to-green.”

“Would have been nice to putt a little better, but still a nice, solid round to start off the week.”

William was happy just to be in red numbers;

“Anything in the red is good around this place.”

“At four under, I would say it was bordering on great.”

“This place is never easy, even when it’s calm. You can’t fall asleep on any shot out here.”

Rory McIlroy, +2 over 72,  seems to be suffering the same malaise that’s affecting Jordan Spieth !!!

Leave a Reply

