Perth International. Peter Uihlein Leads

White Dragon Golf

Peter Uilhein leads the Perth International at Lake Karrinyup Country Club in Australia.

Perth International

Peter Uilhein / Getty Images

USA Peter opened his Perth International account with blistering -7 under par 65 to top the leaderboard, and that was after recording a bogey at the first hole. He said he was mentally prepared and was happy with the result, which came via some good putting;

“I’m pleased with the way it turned out. I was mentally sound. I didn’t really let the bad shots affect me.”

“I had a 25-footer for par on the second and hooped it, and then holed a nice birdie on three and kind of relaxed a little bit after that.”

“The wind switched pretty dramatically and it felt like the real stretch home was down-wind and I felt like we could get some birdies after that so it helped a little bit.”

“I putted nicely, which is always helpful, but if I didn’t hit a good shot I didn’t really let it bother me, I just let it roll off my back and I was ready for the next one.”

“When it’s in the wind like this, you’re going to hit bad shots, everybody does, so you’ve just got to accept it and move on.”

FRA Romain Wattel and IND Shiv Kapur share second place at -6 under par after their first rounds of 66. Romain carded two bogey’s while Shiv was bogey free.

AUS Rhein Gibson leads the Australian charge, he holds fourth place on his own with a first round -5 under par 67.

Perth native Brett Rumford is a  further shot back at -4 under, tied in fifth spot with Scott Arnold, Nick Cullen, Anthony Houston, Todd Sinnott, Magnus A Carlsson and also  Cormac Sharvin, from Northern Ireland, who is playing in his first European Tour event.

 

Leave a Reply

