Honda LPGA Thailand. Amy Young Leads.

White Dragon GolfHonda LPGA

 

Defending champion Amy Yang leads the Honda LPGA Thailand tournament after 36 holes at Siam Country Club.

Honda LPGA Thailand

Amy Yang / Getty Images

Amy carded a second round -3 under par 69 to lead the Honda LPGA Thailand competition by one shot at -9 under par, and very happy with her round today;

“I mean, I struggled a little bit on the front, two bogeys straight, but I think I stayed patient well, got through it well.”

“I’m happy with today’s round.”

Q Baek, Lexi Thompson and Jessica Korda are in second place with -8 under par for the tournament.

Jessica carded -6 under 66 to get into contention, Lexi stayed in touch after leading the first round with her 64 yesterday, carded an even par second round of 72, while Q Baek was -1 under 71 for today’s round.

Lexi put her struggles down to pin positions;

“It’s just pin positions, and the ridges on these greens, you can get some tough pins, especially with how fast the greens are, so you have to make sure you hit the fairways and get the spin that you need going into the greens.”

“But it’s a tough course, especially with the fast greens. There’s a lot of run-ups and a lot of ridges.”

Jessica said her hard work was paying off;

“It was nice. I took like three days off after Ocala because the first two weeks it felt like super jammed. Everything was really jammed in.”

“So I just took a couple days off and then went back.”

“We’ve just been working on keeping my tempo kind of slower. I kind of tend to rush, try and speed everything up, and just really trying to keep my tempo and keep myself happy and calm.”

Xi Yu Lin celebrated her birthday on Thursday and then received a belated gift on Friday of a brand new Honda Accord when she made an Ace at the par 3, without realizing the ball had dropped in;

 “When I walked off the tee, I just didn’t believe. I was thinking they were kidding, so I didn’t really look at the car, but it’s funny, like then on the 17th hole I see the group behind coming in, and I was thinking, okay, don’t touch my car, that’s my car.”

Leave a Reply

