Honda LPGA Thailand. Lexi Triumphant in Thailand.

White Dragon GolfHonda LPGA

 

Lexi Thompson was triumphant in the Honda LPGA Thailand tournament at Siam Country Club.

Honda LPGA Thailand

Lexi Thompson / Getty Images

Lexi won the Honda LPGA Thailand tournament with a final round  -4 under par 68 and a -20 under par tournament total, and a massive six shot victory. In the year of the Olympics Lexi was thrilled with this win, the seventh of her career;

 “It means the world to me. I’m out here not only representing myself but representing my country being an American, and this being a huge year with the Olympics.”
“But I’m just trying to focus on my own game, not anybody else’s.”
“Just trying to do my best and I’m very grateful for the opportunity that I’m out here following my dreams, honestly.”

 

Reigning U.S. Women’s Open Champion In Gee Chun finished in second place at -14 under par, a last round -2 under 70 not good enough on the day to catch the leader.

Jessica Korda and defending champion Amy Yang finished tied in third place at -13 under par. Jessica with  fabulous last round -8 under par 64, and Amy -2 under 70.

Jessica rued the +3 over par round yesterday;

“It would have been nice to not shoot three over yesterday and end up pulling myself totally out of the tournament, but it’s a good redemption round for sure.”

“I proved there was not going to be a charge big enough to catch that lead.”

“I was eleven shots out starting the day. I just wanted to get myself in the top 10 and get a good feel for next week, that’s really it.”

 

Leave a Reply

