WGC Cadillac Championship. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfWGC-Cadillac Championship

There are two players tied at the top of the WGC Cadillac Championship at Doral after the first round. Scott Piercy and Marcus Fraser share top billing.

WGC Cadillac Championship

Scott Piercy / Getty Images

Scott and Marcus carded first rounds of -6 under par 66 at Doral in the WGC Cadillac Championship, to lead by one shot.

Scott spent eight hours on the range practicing yesterday, and explained it well;

“There was a lot, I just wasn’t getting behind the ball very well.”

“I wasn’t getting into my backswing at all. I was kind of faking it. I couldn’t go through the way I wanted to.”

“We all know we’re trying to beat those guys week-in, week-out.”

 “They have proved it. I haven’t proven it week-in, week-out, but when my game’s there I’m pretty decent. We all know they are there.”

“They are looking at my name today. So maybe they will do it tomorrow.”

Marcus was happy to get off to a good start here at Doral;

“It’s obviously a great way to start, especially in a golf tournament like this and at a golf course as strong as this.”

“I’ve obviously got a lot of confidence from today.”

“My previous results at Doral haven’t been that great, but it is nice to get a good one early and hopefully build on that over the next few days.”

Phil Mickelson is in third place , that one shot behind at -5 under par after his opening round 67.

Phil is still learning the new layout, but is happy with the results;

“There is a bit of a learning curve on some of the contours and where you have to go and where you want to go and the best place to be.”

“It’s not like I came in here weeks before and mapped it out like a major. You’re here only the week of.”

“But this is our third year here now and it continues to get better each year.”

“It was a good day, I hit a lot of good shots, made some good putts and just drove it well, enjoyed the day. It was a good day.”

Tied in fourth spot at -4 under par are Adam Scott, Jason Dufner, Charley Hoffman and Danny Willett, shooting rounds of 68.

Danny played and putted well;

“It’s only my fifth tournament of the year so it is still early days, but it is nice to get a few good numbers on the board.”

“It was a good, solid day, I hit 16 greens and had 30 putts. You can’t really ask for much more around this golf course.”

Rory McIlroy could only manage an opening round -1 under par 71, I have tried to tell him that crossed handed putting is not the way to go.

Leave a Reply

