WGC Cadillac Championship. Adam Scott Ascends Once Again

World Golf ChampionshipWhite Dragon GolfWGC-Cadillac Championship

 

 

Adam Scott ascends the leaderboard again as last weeks winner tops the WGC Cadillac Championship at the half way stage on The Blue Monster, Doral.

Adam Scott's 6-under 66 on Friday gave him a two-shot lead heading into the weekend. (David Cannon/Getty Images)

Adam Scott / Getty Images

Adam has a two shot lead going into the week-end at the WGC Cadillac Championship after carding a  second round -6 under par 66, to post a 36 hole -10 under par total.

He said he felt relaxed after his win last week at the Honda Classic, and his putting is getting better;

“I’m probably a little more relaxed this week leading going into the weekend than if I hadn’t won last week.”

“A 36-hole lead doesn’t mean that much, unless it’s by about 10. I could tee off tomorrow and not be leading.”

“I’m going to have to play a good couple of days and try to keep moving in the right direction while the conditions are allowing us to.”

“Overall, it was a lot of good stuff, enough quality shots and enough quality putts to negate a couple of mistakes out there, but they can easily happen on this golf course.”

“So I’m glad there was enough of the good stuff to keep me up on top and kind of setting the pace after halfway.”

Sharing second place  at -8 under par is defending Champion Dustin Johnson and Rory McIlroy.

Dustin posted a bogey free -8 under par 64, while Rory was only one shot behind with -7 under 65 today.

Dustin likes this golf course, with their perfect greens;

“I think the golf course is fantastic, it’s not an easy golf course.”

“It’s in great shape. The greens are perfect.”

Rory made his crossed handed grip on the putter to make some great putts today;

“There was a lot of big momentum putts in there that I have not been holing.”

“So to see those drop today and to be as comfortable as I was, it feels really good and obviously I’m very happy with where I’m at going into the weekend.”

Phil Mickelson, even par today and is now five back, even though he carded four birdies on the trot on the front nine, enjoying some early momentum, but made an enormous blunder, dropping his tee shot into the water at the 139-yard 15th. He said he lost concentration;

“I just kind of lost my train of thought.”

“I’ll be fresh and ready for the weekend. I feel like I’m driving the ball extremely well and my iron game is sharp.”

“And even though that back nine wasn’t what I wanted, it was kind of an anomaly. It’s going to be a good weekend.”

I love it, bring on the weekend.

Leave a Reply

