Ladies World Championship. Ji Han Sol Leads Suspended 1st Round.

White Dragon Golf

Ji Han Sol from South Korea leads the Ladies World Championship as the 1st round was suspended due to darkness at Mission Hills in China.

World Ladies Championship

Ji Han Sol / Getty Images

KOR Ji  carded a completed -4 under-par 68 on the Olazabal Course at Mission Hills before darkness caused play to be suspended for the day. In the morning  torrential rain and thunderstorms had delayed play by two hours and 40 minutes.

Ji spoke through an interpreter;

“I am really happy to get a great score even though it was raining a lot. I was trying to be relaxed mentally and it helped me to finish as the leader.”

“The first time I played this course in the practise round, I thought it was not that difficult.”

“To be honest, it felt easy for me at that time. However, when I played today in the first round of the competition, I realised that this course is not easy at all.”

“Today my shots were not the best and I made many mistakes. I will practise my ball striking and short game more for tomorrow so that I can lift the winner’s trophy.”

Second place is shared between three ladies at -3 under par, but none of them has yet completed their opening rounds,   KOR Ji Hyun Oh, with five holes left to play, FRA Anne-Lise Caudal, seven holes left and KOR Ye Na Chung, ten holes left. So there could be some changes at the top of the leaderboard once the rounds have been completed tomorrow.

CZE Klara Spilkova from the Czech Republic, has finished her round at  level par 72 and commented on the cold temperatures, but she was happy with her putting today;

“I was freezing on the golf course because I just came from Phuket, Thailand, where it was 40, 45 degrees.”

“I felt very cold and my hands were freezing so it was hard to hit good shots and the grass was very wet, so I didn’t know what would happen.”

“I had 28 putts so that was much more helpful than two weeks ago when I was struggling with my putting.”

“I really like the golf course. It’s a beautiful course so I hope the weather will be better tomorrow.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

