Valspar Championship. Three Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon GolfValspar Champ

There is a three-way tie at the top of the Valspar Championship after the first round at Copperhead. Charles Howell 111, Keegan Bradley and Ken Duke share top billing.

Charles Howell III hits out of a bunker on the 15th hole during the first round of the Valspar Championship (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Charles Howell 111 / Getty Images

All three players carded first rounds of -4 under par 67 in the first round of the Valspar Championship, Charles and Ken bogey free.

Charles was happy with his bogey free effort, and is thinking of The Masters;

“I was impressed I got away with no bogeys.”

“It was nice to get off to a good start here on a place like this.”

“I’m not sure what the rest of the week will hold, but to actually play a nice round on a tough golf course is good for my confidence.”

“Always this time of the year, the Masters’ carrot looms, when April comes around it has a different feel, at least for me, than the other majors.”

“So when the Masters comes around and I’m not in it, then it’s a bit of a wake-up call or a kick in the rear to somehow make one last push to try to get in it.”

“It’s not like it’s more special to me than anyone else. Everyone feels that way about it.”

“It’s such a great event. It would be nice to somehow find a way to get there.”

“This golf course is so difficult and there’s trouble everywhere, and I don’t expect tomorrow to be a bogey-free day. Pars are good scores.”

Keegan said  he has been working hard to improve his game;

“It’s been tough, it’s no fun playing poorly out here.”

“I see all my buddies up there doing well and it feels not fun to feel like you’re on the outside looking in.”

“So I’ve been working the hardest in my career.”

Chesson Hadley holds third spot on his own with  -3 under par 68, while defending champion, and World #1 Jordan Spieth continues to struggle, +5 over par 76, and will have to work hard just to make the cut;

“I got off to a poor start, and I was behind the eight-ball with gusty winds on a very tough course.”

“Unfortunately now, on my off-days, typically my history, I’m able to hold that around even par.”

“I’m just shooting too high a number, and didn’t squeak out even today, even though it was an even par kind of round.”

“Hopefully less wind tomorrow and can work hard to play on the weekend.”

Leave a Reply

