Valspar Championship. Bill Haas Ahead.

White Dragon GolfValspar Champ

Bill Haas is ahead after 54 holes of the Valspar Championship at Innisbrook Resort, Copperhead Course.

Haas grabs outright lead

Bill Haas / Getty Images

Bill is ahead in the Valspar Championship, shooting a third round -4 under par 67, to top the leaderboard at -8 under par, and will take a one shot lead into the final round tomorrow. Another -4 under will surely see him take the title.

Bill said it was his great putting that gave him confidence, along with some advice from dad Jay, including why not to grow a beard;

“My putter the first two days, I felt like I had about probably between six putts from 4 to 5 to 6 feet to save par and I’ve made almost all of them.”

 “That’s been the thing that’s really helped me this week. I’ve made a lot of par saves.”

“It’s almost like I’m trying to hit a lot of knock-down shots. All that does is speed my hands up a little bit and not let my body get out in front.”

“If it goes South, I can blame him, that’s always nice.”

“When I started shaving and playing golf he would always say, ‘Did Arnold ever have a beard? Did Jack ever have a beard? Did you lose your razor, Bill?’ I would get those a lot.”

Heavily bearded  Graham DeLaet of Canada Pristine approach leads to eagle

 is in second place at -7 under par, a -3 under par 68 helping him up the table, due mainly to carding an Eagle on the par five 14th hole. He has yet to win his first PGA Tour title, but thinks tomorrow will be the day;

“I think tomorrow is going to be the day.”

“Every time I’m in this position I say the politically correct things. I’m going to go and win this golf tournament tomorrow.” 

Charley Hoffman – 4 under 67 today and Ryan Moore -2 under 69 were three shots behind, at -5 under for the tournament.

Charles Howell III -1 under par 70 and Steve Stricker, sadly over par today, +1 carding 72, they are four shots back of the leader.

Defending champion, World #1 Jordan Spieth is at last in red figures, albeit six shots off the pace at -2 under, but he is there with a chance tomorrow;

“I’m still in this golf tournament, I’ll need something like seven under tomorrow which is feasible.”

“So, to think after the first round that I go Saturday night and be able to sleep with a chance to win the golf tournament, I’m very pleased with that.”

Leave a Reply

