JTBC Founders Cup. Mi Hyang Lee Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Mi Hyang Lee, from South Korea leads the JTBC Founders Cup shooting an amazing -10 under par 62 in the first round.

JTBC Founders Cup

Mi Hyang Lee / Getty Images

Mi Hyang leads the JTBC Founders Cup by one shot on day 1 at  Wildfire Golf Club in Arizona. She told reporters she was not thinking about a 59, even though she birdied the first nine holes straight off;

“No. I didn’t think the 59. If I think the 59, maybe I shoot over par the Back nine.”

“Just kidding. Okay. Yes. Maybe later. Maybe next time I’m trying to make 59 one day.”

Tied in second place at -9 under par are Sei Young Kim and Brittany Lang.

Sei Young was happy to have improved her performance from last week;

“I think I play well today because I shot better than the last couple of tournaments because I struggled with my shots.”

“I was a little confident with my shots, my swing. Yeah, but after last week, I played a little more better. So I did best today.”

Giulia Sergas sits in solo fourth at -8 under par after her good opening round of 64, which included eight birdies, an eagle and two bogeys.

Gerina PillerMinjee Lee, Dani Holmqvist, Pernilla Lindberg and Anna Nordqvist are all at -7 under par for the tournament.

Gerina stated that she was in rhythm, and just followed along with the others;

“I mean you kind of get in a rhythm, and you know, this is kind of like golfing in a bubble.”

 “I mean it’s perfect weather, great golf course, perfect conditions. So that also helps.”

“Obviously Sei Young making lots of birdies, Anna, myself. You can definitely get in a rhythm out there and just kind of feed off each other.”

You have to wonder though, are these ladies playing fabulous golf, or is the course too easy for this quality of field?

 

Leave a Reply

