Arnold Palmer Invitational. Daylight Between Jason and the Others.

White Dragon GolfArnold Palmer Invt'l

There is daylight between Jason Day and the others in the Arnold Palmer Invitational field, two shots in fact.

Jason Day hit 11 of 14 fairways in regulation in Round 2. He also ranked second in strokes gained: tee-to-green (4.387). (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Jason Day / Getty Images

Jason carded a bogey free second round -7 under par 65 at Bay Hill in the Arnold Palmer Invitational, to post a -13 under par total, giving him a two shot advantage over the field going into the week-end.

He said it was good to be holing out the big putts, two from outside of 35 feet;

“It felt great, it felt like it was the second half of last year, especially today, hitting long drives, hitting smart shots into the greens and holing big putts.”

“My swing feels put together, it feels in sync and I can get after it.”

Henrik Stenson is in second place at -11 under par, -6 under 66 today keeping him within sight of the leader, it was motivation that kept him going. Over the last four years no one has been more under par at Bay Hill than Henrik, a cumulative -47 under, you need to be a good putter;

“It’s motivating, you can’t let it be frustrating that you’re eight shots back when starting you’re second round.”

“It suits my game, position off the tee.”

“Got to hit it in the fairway and play some good iron shots and when I’m playing well I seem to do that.”

“So, that kind sets up a lot of birdie chances and my putter has been working really nicely these couple of days and some of the previous years as well apparently.”

Third position belongs to Justin Rose at -10 under par, he also carded -6 under 66 today despite  suffering with a variety of ailments over the past few weeks, flu, sore back, sore foot, resilience was the key;

“It’s a lesson to know you can win many ways or play well many ways.”

 “You have to be resilient.

“It’s not a long-term strategy. You can’t say I’m never playing a practice round again.”

Rory McIlroy bounced back a bit today, -5 under 67, gets him to -2 under overall, but he still sounded confused;

“The shots I was hitting I hadn’t seen in a long time.”

“I wanted to know whether it was my swing or whether it was,  what it was.”

“I needed to work on it but thankfully I was able to figure it out and hit the ball much better today.”

“Just sort of figured out that my angle was left at impact. I’ve been trying to move the ball up in my stance with the driver.”

Adam Scott slipped back carding +1 over par 73, to total -4 under par for the competition.

Leave a Reply

