Hero Indian Open. Home Hero SSP Chawrasia Has Advantage.

White Dragon Golf

Home hero SSP Chawrasia has the advantage going into the last round of the Hero Indian Open at Delhi Golf Club.

Chawrasia on course for Delhi GC hat-trick

SSP Chawrasia / Getty Images

SSP took control of the Hero Indian Open with a bogey free third round -4 under par 68 to post a two shot lead at -14 under par for the tournament. He knows the Delhi Golf Club course, he has previously won the 2008 Indian Masters and the Panasonic Open India on the Asian Tour here two years ago, and now also has The Olympics on his mind;

“I have played here at the Delhi Golf Club quite few times, so I know how to play here.”

“Going into the final round, I will follow the same process that I have been for the last three days.”

“Honestly, the Hero Indian Open is a very important tournament for me and I want to win it because I have finished second over here four times.” 

“My next goal is to play in the Olympics, so if I manage to win here I will make the team.”

Australian Terry Pilkadaris started the day with a three shot lead, but could not produce the same form today, carding +1 over par 73, to finish two shots back in second, at -12 under par.

Terry said it was all down to the putting, he missed his chances and SSP made his;

“I left a lot of my putts short. I couldn’t get the pace of the greens. Yeah it was downhill putt and it was a normal tournament pace putt (par save putt on 17).”

“I was scratching my head and trying to get the speed right. It was one of those days.”

That’s golf, that’s the beauty of the game. One day it is good and one day it is off. ‘

“There were a couple of big momentum changes. On number 10, S.S.P. was all over the place and I thought I got a chance, I got a 15 footer for birdie and he got a 14 footer for par, I missed mine and he holes his.”

Sharing third place are two more home players, Rashid Khan, -3 under par 69 today and Anirban Lahiri -5 under 67, both at -10 under for the competition.

Anirban also had problems with the putting;

“I’m happy, I played quite solid. I didn’t drop a shot and barely missed a couple of greens.”

“I had quite a few chances but I didn’t roll the ball as much as I would have liked. I could have made a few more putts from 10 or 15 feet.”

I have a chance. This is Delhi Golf Club and pressure does funny things to people out here.”

“I can’t control the weather or how anybody is playing. I’m happy with how I played today so hopefully I can back it up with a better final round.”

Leave a Reply

