Arnold Palmer Invitational. Jason Day Delivers.

White Dragon GolfArnold Palmer Invt'l

Australian Jason Day delivers as he wins the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill.

Jason Day poses with the trophy following the final round of the Arnold Palmer Invitational. (Chris Trotman/Getty Images)

Jason Day / Getty Images

Jason won the Arnold Palmer Invitational with a final round -2 under par 70 to post a -17 under par winning total at Bay Hill.

Talking about his short game, hitting a bunker shot on 18 to within four feet, to win, Jason said;

“Under the circumstances to be able to hit the bunker shot on 18 goes to show how much I feel confident in my ability to hit that kind of a shot.”

“I think my short game is one of my strengths, I don’t know if I’m overrated, underrated or par with that.”

“But the only thing that I’m worried about is just winning as many times as I can and I know that if I have a good short game and I don’t have the greatest stuff from the tee to green, it’s going to save me like it did over the last two days.”

“Just be yourself and stay in your world’ and for some reason it just means so much more, you know, that you can do this and start your own legacy here.”

Kevin Chappell finished in second place, a -3 under par 69 was a good effort, but he needed a birdie on the last, then under pressure pulled the tee shot and two putted for a bogey to post -16 under par;

“It’s obviously those things one of many why Jason Day has been the No. 1 player in the world, why I’m the 150th player in the world.”

“You just can’t bogey the last when you’re in contention, and hats off to Jason. He played well, real clutch down the stretch and I’ll learn from this and I’ll get better.”

Tied in third place were Troy Merritt, -1 under 71 today and Henrik Stenson, also -1 under 71, both should have done better than their total of -14 under par.

Troy fell to a bad tee shot on the last hole;

“Would have been nice to hit the tee shot on the face.”

“Hit it high off the toe. Didn’t get it down there as far as I had the first three rounds.”

“As a result we had a little down slope and 6-iron in. We’re trying to hit at the middle of the green, let the 6-iron drift in there to 20 feet left, hit it solid.”

“Got eaten up once it got to the top. Came up 10 yards short. I wasn’t shooting at the flag.”

Three putting last year cost Henrik the title, this year it was poor ball striking;

“I never really felt a hundred percent with my ball striking all week and when you got longer irons and winds and tough shots, if you don’t feel like you can take one side out”

“I’ve had a bit of a two-way miss going all week, never builds confidence.”

 

Leave a Reply

