Hero Indian Open. Delhi Delight for SSP Chawrasia.

White Dragon Golf

IND Delhi delight for SSP Chawrasia as he won his home tournament the Hero Indian Open at Delhi Golf Club.

Hero Indian Open

SSP Chawrasia / Getty Images

A final round -1 under par 71 was good enough for IND SSP to lift the trophy at the Hero Indian Open, with a -15 under par total. This win sees the 37-year-old Asian Tour player reclaim his European Tour playing privileges, and also heading off to The Olympics;

“I was a four-time runner-up in this event and I was thinking for a long time, ‘I have to win this tournament’. That’s my dream and I got it.”

“This is very important for me because I get a full card and most probably I’m playing the Olympics and the World Cup, also so it’s very, very important for me.”

“I think every Indian player looks at this tournament as the biggest. It is our national championship and a huge honor for me.”

“There was a lot of pressure on me on the last hole but I had to say thank God when Anirban missed his birdie putt! I played a great chip there and then when he missed I knew I would win the tournament.”

“I saved lots of shots this week and it obviously helped me a lot because I made lots of tough up-and-downs.”

“It was key to come back.”

Tied in second place at -13 under par were KOR Jeunghun Wang -4 under 68 today and IND Anirban Lahiri who carded -3 under 69.

Filipino PHI Angelo Que finished on -12 under after a brilliant bogey free -7 under 65 last round, the low round of the day. He shared fourth spot alongside Brazil’s BRA Adilson da Silva who closed with a  -3 under 69.

Leave a Reply

