Kia Classic. Jenny Shin has 36 Hole Lead.

White Dragon Golf

 

Jenny Shin has the 36 hole lead at the Kia Classic at Aviara Golf Club in California.

Kia Classic

Jenny Shin / getty images

 

KOR Jenny carded a second round -7 under par to lead the Kia Classic after 36 holes with a tournament total -10 under par.

Good shots and great putts and having your Mum along all add up;

“I think it was a really good round. I hit great shots. I hit great putts. I had a lot of six footers for birdie, so it was a good day.”

“The goal this week was like, I have to make the cut. I have to show up on the weekend.”

“This is the only tournament every year where I struggle to get in contention, and I think part of it was, it’s close to home, a lot of people watching. I want to do well.”

“Last year, my coach came out and watched me for two days. So it was just a lot of pressure. This year, I didn’t invite anybody, just my mom.”

Two ladies are tied in second place at -9 under par, World #1  Lydia Ko a bogey free -5 under par 67 today, and USA Brittany Lang, one of the first round leaders, she posted a second round -4 under 68.

Lydia said she had an up and down day, not playing so well;

“I didn’t strike the ball as well as I did yesterday, especially on my back nine, I had to make up-and-down from a few places.”

“The rough is rough, so when you get in there, it’s tough to get close to the pin or even on the green sometimes.”

“Sometimes I got fortunate but other times I was able to scramble and I think that’s the most important thing around here.”

Sharing fourth spot are Inbee Park, -3 under 69 today, and Hyo Joo Kim -6 under 66, both at -8 under par for the tournament.

Last week’s winner of the JTBC Founders Cup, Sei Young Kim has missed the cut, made at +2 over par, along with defending champion Cristie Kerr.

 

 

Leave a Reply

