Shell Houston Open. Charlie Leads.

White Dragon GolfShell Houston Open

Charlie Hoffman leads the first round of the Shell Houston Open at the Golf Club Of Houston in Humble, Texas.

Hoffman takes lead with 64

Charley Hoffman / Getty Images

Charley carded a Shell Houston Open first round -8 under par 64, to lead the tournament by one shot over the field. Charley has played well recently, except of the final rounds, his putter took most of the blame;

“The tournaments I played well in the last few weeks, I’ve shot 3, 4 over on the back nine on Sunday when I’ve been going from winning the golf tournament to 12th or 15th place.”

“That’s big positions on the PGA TOUR.”

“Early in the year I was struggling a little bit. The putter was acting up and wasn’t driving it great.”

“You go through the walls throughout the year. All in all, I feel great about my game where it’s going.”

“I’m leading, so I’m going to go with it’s my best round of the year.”

There is a gang of four players tied in second place at -7 under par, following their opening rounds of 65. Dustin Johnson, Roberto Castro, Scott Brown and Morgan Hoffman are the chasers.

Dustin is tuning up for Augusta;

“I just felt like I needed to play a few more competitive rounds and get the game in really good shape going into Augusta.”

Jordan Spieth is on the comeback trail, shooting -5 under par 67 to be in the group at T10;

“I drove the ball fantastic today, I really felt comfortable on my iron shots.”

“I feel like my game is there. It’s very close.”

 “I came off a solid week last week. I had just one kind of off round against Louis Oosthuizen.”

“We were able to get some work in with Cameron ( Spieth’s instructor) and continue what we’ve already been trying to do, trim the fat going into this week and next.”

Leave a Reply

