ANA Inspiration. Lexi Thompson Joins Ai Miyazato

White Dragon GolfANA Inspiration

 

Lexi Thompson joins Ai Miyazato at the top of the ANA Inspiration leaderboard at the half way point at Mission Hills Country Club in California.

ANA Inspiration

Lexi & Ai / Getty Images

Lexi shot -4 under par 68 in the second round of the ANA Inspiration to join Ai at the top at -7 under par for the tournament. Ai carded -2 under 70 to stay where she finished yesterday.

Both ladies have changed putters, and Lexi said it was good to hear the cheer from the crowd when her birdie attempt on 18 dropped in;

“It’s a dramatic change, just changing  the putter and a little bit different stance over the putts has given me a lot of confidence this week.”

“I’m rolling it a lot better, and having my caddie Benji line me up has helped me out a lot too.”

“Eighteen is one of the best finishing holes that we have out here, but to hear the crowds cheer making that putt is definitely a good feeling.”

“Gives me chills every time.”

Ai just made adjustment to the lie on her putter, it was staying patient that helped her. She is also looking forward to paring with Lexi tomorrow;

“Even though I made the bogey, afterwards I didn’t try to get it back soon.”

“I’m like just par’s okay on the next hole and see how it goes and just let it go and let it happen. So it was kind of a good mental control.”

“It will be interesting, I think. I played with her many times and I really like to play with her because she’s a really good player.”

“I know she’s in good shape, so it’s kind of fun to see her game too.”

“But, you know, it’s just doesn’t matter this golf course if you hit long or not. So just you need to be really staying with your game and have a good course management, so that’s about it.”

The top two lead by one shot ahead of a large group at 6-under par, which includes major champions Lydia Ko, In Gee Chun and Suzann Pettersen, Lizette Salas, Lee-Anne Pace and Sung Hyun Park.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

