Lotte Championship. Moriya Jutanugarn and Minjee Lee Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Moriya Jutanugarn, from Thailand, and Minjee Lee from Australia lead the Lotte Championship after the first round in Hawaii.

Lotte Championship

Minjee Lee & Moriya Jutanugarn / Getty Images

Minjee shot a bogey free Lotte Championship first round of -4 under par 68 in the windy conditions at Ko Olina Golf Club, and was very happy with her round;

“It helps if you’re a good ball-striker, but also you need to judge the wind well as well, like how far you want to take it right or if the wind is right to left.”

“You got to have some luck with it, too. It’s not just all your skill. You never know.”

“Mother Nature can throw anything at you. I think I judged it really well today so I’m happy.”

Moriya had one bogey and a double bogey in her round of -4 under 68, but was delighted with the seven birdies she had on the day;

“You know, I didn’t even count until I finish,I was like, Oh, that’s nice, seven birdies.”

“It was fun making birdie with this condition of the wind.”

“I think I having fun with my game today.”

“Trying to play with really like strong wind and try to play different type of shot around; try to get up and down.”

“Feels like I had a lot of patient with the wind today, so pretty good for my game.”

The top two are a stroke clear of five ladies all on -3 under par, Kim Kaufman, Sei Young Kim, Brooke Henderson, Caroline Masson and Alena Sharp these ladies all fired opening round 69’s.

Defending Champion Sei Young Kim likes the challenging conditions;

“I like to play windy, because if into the wind I can hit the cut shot.”

“Even if the left to right wind, my nature fly right hook, so it’s easy today.”

“Yeah, so very comfortable today.”

“When I walk on the course a lot of memory coming at me, so, yeah, very comfortable.”

“Then, yeah, give me a lot of energy, that memory.”

World number one Lydia Ko opened with a -1 under 71 today, with a huge group at T14, while world number two Inbee Park struggled, carding +2 over par 74.

Leave a Reply

