Lotte Championship. Minjee Lee Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Minjee Lee, from Australia, leads the Lotte Championship after two rounds in Hawaii.

Lotte Championship

Minjee Lee / Getty Images

Minjee carded  a bogey free second  -6 under par 66 to top the Lotte Championship leaderboard in Hawaii, and will take a two shot lead into the weekend.

She said she was just having fun, and holed a couple of putts;

“Just been having fun and hitting my shots one shot at time.”

“I holed a couple of nice putts and, yeah, just got my momentum going on the front nine.”

“I birdied eight and nine, so I think the momentum carried on through the back nine.”

“I’ve been striking it pretty good yesterday and today as well, it really does help in this wind.”

Katie Burnett holds second place,  two shots back at -8 under par after her second round -6 under 66.

Katie  missed qualifying for the ANA Inspiration, and has used that omission  as  motivation for this week;

“It was motivating not to get into ANA, disappointing, but also motivating to go home and be at home watching a tournament when I thought I should have been there.”

“Honestly, I like the wind, I’m from the coast, so I actually prefer to play when it’s a little windy.”

“I think actually probably if you look at my finishes, probably have played better in those tournaments that have been windy because it makes you be really committed.”

“You have to make a decision and go with it and be committed, otherwise the wind is going to wreak havoc on the ball.”

Sponsor invite Su-Yeon Jang is in third position at -7 under par, following her -6 under 66 second round, and will complete Friday’s final group.

Megan Khang played the round of the day, a -8 under 64, making those important putts

“I think I gave myself a lot more chances today.”

“Yesterday I had trouble finding the green, but today I found the green and I was able to hit some close ones.”

“Right off the bat, number one, I was able to tap in a birdie putt. I think the key today was giving myself chances and executing the putts.”

World number one Lydia Ko did not perform too well today. an even par round of 72, leaves her T 26, at -1 under for the tournament. While her main rival for the #1 spot Inbee Park is T 49 for the tournament at +1 over par.

Leave a Reply

