Spanish Open. Pablo Larrazábal Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Pablo Larrazábal leads the Spanish Open after the second round at a very windy Valderrama.

Spanish Open

Pablo Larrazábal / Getty Images

Pablo handled the windy conditions very well at the Spanish Open to take over the top spot on the leaderboard, which delighted the home fans. He shot a second round of even par 72 and will take a two shot advantage over the field going into the weekend with his -3 under par total;

If the wind blows like this a level par or more total will win this.”

“If I shoot level par over the weekend I will be in the fight.”

“To shoot level in these conditions is a great feeling and to have a chance on the last to go into the red figures is something really special.”

“I said to my playing partners that I only missed one shot today really bad, and I made triple-bogey. I made so many great saves , like the 17th, the putt I made from the back of there was great.”

“I didn’t play my best golf, but on another golf course I would have gone six, seven under par because of the way I fought, so I’m very pleased.”

Andrew Johnson of England holds second place at -1 under par for the tournament, he carded +3 over par 74 today;

“I’m in a good position, I tried to play hole by hole really and make pars, if I made birdies then that was a bonus.”

“You can’t afford to get annoyed, I made double-bogey on the third, and I walked off like nothing had happened, and not worry about it and just carry on, because that is what the course can do to you.”

“My caddy and I had a good laugh out there, we bounced off each other well. I knew I just had to stay calm, so there was no point in trying to get angry and I had that attitude from the first hole.”

Third place is shared between Alex Levy +5 over par 76 today, Alejandro Cañizares, +4 over 75 with Defending Champion James Morrison also carding +4 over 75, all at even par for the contest.

Tournament host Sergio Garcia was one of just four players to record a level par 71 to stay +3 over for the tournament, and admitted he had never seen the course provide such a tough challenge;

“It is playing the toughest I’ve seen, because since the early 2000s when we were here, the rough is definitely thicker than I’ve seen before, it makes chipping even tougher, which is usually always difficult round here.”

“It’s no surprise there are only two players under par, I said at the beginning of the week that the way the weather is, under par or around par is going to have a chance of winning.”

 

Leave a Reply

