Spanish Open. Andrew Beef Johnston Wins Maiden Title.

White Dragon Golf

Andrew Beef Johnston, from England, seals his maiden European Tour victory, the Spanish Open at Valderrama.

Spanish Open

Andrew Johnson / getty iamges

Andrew carded a final round -1 under par 70 at Valderrama to post a Spanish Open winning total of +1 over par, a one shot maiden victory. It was everything he had dreamed of;

“It is what you dream of to have your name on a trophy alongside so many special names like Seve, Faldo, Langer.”

“I drove the ball well all week, chipped and putted well all week, I struggled a bit with my irons the first three days but I just kept going and kept digging in and then on the fourth I found something.”

“I came off the course and I just started crying with the emotion of it. It’s just very surreal and I don’t think it will hit me for a few days.”

“You see them winning these tournaments, and the history of it and all these names, so to put mine on there feels pretty ridiculous, really. It really does.”

“Hopefully I can be one of those guys who has an incredible career like that and people are sitting here in the future going, ‘oh, Beef’s on there’. It’s pretty incredible.”

Joost Luiten from Holland was in second place, a last round of even par giving him a +2 over par total.

Tournament Host, Sergio Garcia claimed third place with a magnificent final round -4 under par 67 for a +3 over par total;

Spanish Open

Sergio & Beef / getty images

“It was exciting today, I played very nicely even though my wrist was giving me a little bit of trouble. But I managed to hit a lot of great shots, I made some great recoveries and holed some nice putts.”

“It’s just a shame on the last, I got a massive flyer with the eight iron. I hit it 195yrds when I’m supposed to hit 165.”

“But that happens so I’m proud the way the tournament has gone, and the way I have played having played four weeks in a row, which is tiring, but we’ve raised a lot of money for our foundation.”

Defending champion James Morrison, +1 over 72 today, and Søren Kjeldsen, -3 under 68,  tied for fourth position at +4 over par.

It has been 20 years since a regular event had been won at an over par score, Ian Woosnam shooting the same score to win the Scottish Open at Carnoustie in 1996.

I don’t know if the galleries really want to see a tournament set up like this, so tough that some of the top professionals from the European Tour could not break par. This tournament is just a regular tour event, not a Major. I wonder how the members of  Real Club Valderrama find the course.

Leave a Reply

