Shenzhen International. Levy and Lee 1st Round Leaders.

White Dragon Golf

Alex Levy and Soomin Lee are the 1st round leaders in the Shenzhen International at Genzon Golf Club in China, before bad light stopped play.

Shenzen International

Alex Levy / getty images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alex and Soomin both shot first rounds of -6 under par 66 to top the leaderboard in the  Shenzhen International in China.

Alex has won on the  Genzon Golf Club before, at the Volvo China Open in 2014, and was happy to be round in under par again;

“I have some very good memories here and it’s always nice to play this golf course when you have your first win.”

“I just played great today, and I played well last week and a few bad rounds with the wind. I feel my game is in a good way.”

“It’s nice because you have some big memories and, for me, it’s really nice to play on this place.”

“It’s always nice to shoot under par”

Soomin, from South Korea, has changed his putting technique, and the hard work is paying off, carding a bogey free round today;

“It’s good, because really I needed to change, it was really a problem for me in Perth through Thailand, so I changed.”

“I had three weeks in Korea, so I’m all practicing putting and then change.”

“I think this course seems like Malaysia, good for me. Small greens, narrow greens and heavy rough.”

“I just tried to keep in the fairway and greens and then completed some putts.”

Currently in third position is Brandon Stone, he is one of the players still to finish his first round, having completed 17 holes, with a -5 under par total.

 Raphaël Jacquelin, Gary Stal, Eduardo de la Riva, Paul Dunne and Joost Luiten are T4 with completed rounds of -4 under par 68.

Defending champion Kiradech Aphibarnrat along with two-time Major Championship winner Bubba Watson are in the large group at -1 under.

There was a long 45-minute delay due to lightning in the afternoon, which meant 32 players will be returning to finish their rounds on Friday morning.

Leave a Reply

