Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic. So Yeon Ryu Leads.

White Dragon Golf

So Yeon Ryu leads the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic after the first round in San Francisco.

Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic

So Yeon Ryu

 

So Yeon carded a bogey free 1st round -9 under par 63, a new tournament record, to lead the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic by two shots at the and of day one in San Francisco, and said she got lucky with an early tee time, and enjoyed some good putting;

“Well, I was kind of lucky to tee it off really early.”

 “I had a really fresh green, no wind.”

“Also San Francisco is really cold in the morning, but this morning it was just perfect temperature.”

“Then I think today everything was just great. My tee shot was great. I only missed one green today. I shot 17 greens. Putting was really good.”

“I think I pretty much complete everything, also I hit the ball a little longer.”

“So I feel pretty much comfortable with the long game. We were just more working on my short game, especially my putting.”

“I have been working with Ian Baker-Finch as well, so Ian and Cameron been discuss about my putting as well.”

“So, yeah, feels really good to have really good team.”

Haru Nomura is in second place, an opening round -7 under par 65, keeping her in touch with the leader.

Tied in third place at -5 under par are Xi Yu Lin and Christel Boeljon.

Xi had talks with her caddie on how they go forward;

“Well, she is very experienced because she used to be player, we been working together for a long time. We know each other.”

“So I decide to just tell her all my feeling, and sometimes just get the feeling this club is right even it doesn’t look right. So I just tell her. I telling her everything.”

“I’m so nervous hitting this drive or I don’t like this pin position, so let’s hit to the middle of the green. We talk a lot. Like soon as I make it clear, I can have a good rhythm.”

Defending Champion, World number one, Lydia Ko opened with a more modest -4 under par to be T4;

“I mean, it’s a tough course so you almost need to take advantage of the holes where you’re coming in with shorter clubs. I guess those are kind of like the par-5s.”

“If they become reachable, then if we make an eagle, that’s just an extra bonus”

“It’s tough, especially with the rough being lush. When you get those birdie opportunities you need to try and grab them. Yeah, there is not really one particular hole. But to me, I think No.4, the par-4, is one of the toughest holes on the course.”

“Even if you’re hitting a short iron with the way that hole is kind of set up, if you come off with four pars at the end of the week, that’s pretty good.”

Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic

Lydia Ko / getty images

Leave a Reply

