Shenzhen International. Round 3 Delayed. Lee Lead Is Cut.

White Dragon Golf

Soomin Lee saw his lead get cut at the Shenzhen International, before round three got delayed, in China. The top players have only completed about half the round, due to rain and bad light.

Shenzhen International

Soomin Lee / getty images

Soomin carded only one birdie in the eleven holes that he played in the third round in the Shenzhen International at Genzon Golf Club course, giving him a -14 under par total.

He admitted that he was taking a cautious approach;

“I was just trying to keep it bogey-free and not make any mistakes and that will be the same tomorrow.”

“I will just try and hit the fairways and hit the greens and just focus on keeping bogeys off the card.”

“This week is really helping my game and my confidence.”

“When I played in Malaysia, I felt very nervous but if I have a chance towards the end tomorrow, I think I will be better this time.”

The man of the moment is Callum Shinkwin, from England, he shot a tournament record low score of -10 under par 62 in his completed third round, to be in second place at -12 under par for the tournament. Unfortunately the low score is not eligible for the record books because due to the wet weather, placing was in use on the fairways. Callum also reported that he missed a couple of putts that could easily have dropped;

“Tournament-wise it’s my lowest round by three shots, so it’s nice to be able to do that.”

“To tell the truth, I missed a couple of putts as well but it was a great round.”

“I drove the ball great and on the par fives, I took advantage of the good tee shots.”

Third place is shared by Brandon Stone, -3 under for 12 holes, and Lee Slattery who is at -2 under par for his 12 hole played. Both players have tournament totals of -10 under par.

Lee was nervous for this round, but said he was chipping and putting well;

“I was a little bit nervous today but it turned out okay because I was chipping it well and I was making short putts so that kept me feeling confident.”

Joost Luiten had started his third round at -10 under par,  but was +1 over for his round through 11 holes, alongside Paul Dunne, -2 under through 12 and Alexander Levy, -3 under today and has completed 13 holes. These three are at -9 under for the much interrupted competition.

Leave a Reply

