Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic. Haru Nomura Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Haru Nomura wins the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic  at Lake Merced Golf Club, in San Francisco.

Haru Nomura / getty images

Haru, from Japan, carded a final round +1 over par 73 for the final round, in the windy conditions that dominated play this week, to win the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic with -9 under par total.

She said, via an interpreter, that she was not nervous on the day,

“No. I’m never nervous.”

 “This weather very cold, so sometimes bogey is okay.”

“You guys will find this strange, but I like windy situations.”

“I like playing in the wind. I like tough situations, so when I spoke to the caddie, even before the championship last week in Hawaii, I told him, I’m going to come here and win this tournament because I really like this course.”

“I enjoy this course. I’m glad that I was able to deliver on what I told my caddie.”

Lee-Anne Pace was in second place, four shots off the lead at-5 under for the tournament. Signing for a final round +2 over par 74 in the tough conditions, which she said was insane;

“Personally, insane.”

“No, look, it was freezing. It was very, very gusty.”

“A lot of the shots you stood over and it was just really, really difficult to commit to the lines, everything. It was a very tough day out there.”

Lee-Anne started the day with five straight bogey’s, and gave herself a good talking to;

“What are you doing?”

 “No, you know, my caddie came to me again, and he said to me, everyone is going down, be patient.”

“I know we made some mistakes, but come on, let’s get it back to even par, and that was our goal, and we got it back to two over, so nearly reached the goal and got a good result in the end.”

Tied in third place at -4 under par were Gerina Pillar, +1 over 73 today and Na Yeon Choi, +3 over 75.

Gerina had family watching her, and keeping her up to date with the carnage that was going on around her;

“I got a few updates, one of my cousins was watching so she was kind of giving me an update of what was going on.”

“It’s actually kind of cool because it kind of took my mind off of my game and what I had to do today, and just because it’s so windy.”

“I was kind of more worried about him than I was my own game.”

No three-peat for World number one Lydia Ko, she scored a +3 over par 75 today, leaving her at -1 under for the tournament, and T6.

Leave a Reply

