Volunteers of America Texas Shootout. Mi Jung Hur Leads 1st Round.

White Dragon Golf

Mi Jung Hur leads after the 1st round of the Volunteers of America Texas Shootout at Las Colinas, shooting -5 under par 66, which included a bogey five on the 5th hole.

Volunteers of America Texas Shootout

Gerina Pillar / getty images

Gerina Piller, So Yeon Ryu and Eun-Hee Ji all share second place with opening rounds of -4 under par 67.

Home town girl Gerina said it was strange sleeping in her own bed during a competition;

“It’s a little tougher this week being a home game and having family in town and just staying at home, it’s hard to go home and go to bed.”

 “You want to do the dishes or stuff like that.”

“Definitely have to be more conscious with your time and how you prepare just like any other week because you’re at home and it’s kind of pulling you opposite directions.”

“I mean, I know that I’m playing really well and I’ve had some really good finishes, so that’s golf, you’ve just kind of got to ride that and just keep pressing on.”

So Yeon played well, a bogey free day, even her putting was good;

“Today I shot 17 greens, and even when I missed I was still able to putt it, I was just off the green.”

“So I think today my shot was really great, I just comfortable with everything and like driver, iron, wood, everything was great.”

“Even putting was really great.”

“The only one disappointing thing is I missed a 5 foot birdie putt at the last. But I had a bogey free round today, so it was a really simple round.”

“I feel like today was kind of a little breezy, but after that happened in San Francisco, this is nothing, just baby wind.”

“Even when I had like strong wind, I feel like really easy to control it and really easy to decide what I need to do.”

“So I think it was really big help, really, really big help after having really, really windy day in San Francisco.”

Leave a Reply

