Volvo China Open. 2nd Round Suspended, Felipe Aguilar Has Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Felipe Aguilar, from Chile, leads the Volvo China Open as second round play was suspended due to the threat of lightning.

Volvo China Open

Felipe Aguilar / getty images

Felipe carded a completed second round -7 under par 65 to top the Volvo China Open as play was suspended at Topwin Golf and Country Club, with a 36 hole total of -11 under par, in Beijing.

Felipe had missed six straight cuts, before getting to week-end play last week. He admitted his body has been feeling the strain after taking part in an Ironman triathlon over the winter period, his doctors had warned him of how long it would take to recover from the exertions of competing in that event. Even his putting was poor;

“I played quite consistently throughout my first two rounds so I’m quite happy. It’s been a tough start to the year so hopefully this will be a turnaround for me”

“I was pretty unstable at the start of the year, I missed several cuts by one or two shots and I wasn’t putting very well, missing shots that I usually don’t.”

“I guess now I believe my doctors when they said I would struggle to recover my fitness from doing an Ironman competition.”

“They said I would struggle for about two months afterwards and I actually did because it’s such fine margins in this sport.”

“I haven’t done much exercise in recuperating my body, but I have been doing a lot of work lately so hopefully this will do it.”

“I played quite solid today, I don’t think I missed one green.”

Alex Noren, from Sweden, a bogey free -5 under 67 today, and Bernd Wiesberger from Austria, -3 under 69, share second place at -10 under par, just one shot back of the leader.

Alex is happy to be back in contention;

“It’s always good when you’ve won before and it’s really nice to be up there. It was a while ago before Valderrama since I’ve been up there so it’s a nice feeling.”

“I’m hitting it nicely, I haven’t even hit a draw yet but the fade is working.”

First round leader Hennie Otto, is T4 at -9 under par, with four holes left to play. Another player at T4, Taehoon Kim recorded the second hole in one in this competition, from 177 yards with a seven iron on the par three 13th, adding to the seven birdies and a bogey in his finished round of -8 under par 64. Unfortunately there was no Volvo car for Taehoon.

Leave a Reply

