Volvo China Open. Home Town Boy Li Haotong Wins

White Dragon Golf

Home town boy Li Haotong wins the Volvo China Open at Topwin Golf and Country Club in Beijing, his maiden European Tour win.

Volvo China Open

Li Haotong / Getty Images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CHN Home town boy Li Haotong won the Volvo China Open with a marvelous bogey free final round -8 under par 64, sharing the low round of the day, for a tournament total of -22 under par, and a convincing three shot victory.

Haotong was very happy to be holding the trophy, especially as he listened to his caddy on the final hole;

“I just tried to relax myself and I’m really really happy to hold the trophy here.”

“The start of this year has given me a lot of hard times, even though I worked hard I still played badly, especially last week. I worked hard there and couldn’t control my ball.”

“When I had my tee-shot, I walked to my second shot there and I was thinking I need to go hybrid to get to the front edge to give me an easy chip to there but my caddy said, Haotong, you’re already three shots in the lead, you’ve just got to lay up and make par to win”

CHI Felipe Aguila claimed second place, three shots off the pace at -19 under par, a last round -3 under par 69 not good enough to put in a serious challenge for the title.

Sharing third place were ENG Richard Bland, -6 under par 66 today,  GER Marcel Siem, also -6 under par 66, and DEN Lucas Bjerregaard, -2 under 70 on the day, they all finished with -18 under par totals.

Peter Hanson, -5 under 67 today, Scott Hend, -8 under 64, and Richie Ramsay, -6 under 66,  were next in line  at -17 under par.

Leave a Reply

