Volunteers of America Texas Shootout. Jenny Shin Wins 1st LPG Victory

White Dragon Golf

Jenny Shin, from South Korea,  wins the Volunteers of America Texas Shootout at  Las Colinas Country Club, in Texas, her 1st LPG Victory.

Voluteers of America Texas Shootout

Jenny Shin and her 1st LPGA Trophy

Jenny carded a final bogey free round of -4 under par 67 to win the Volunteers of America Texas Shootout with a total of -14 under par, a two shot victory.

Jenny is the third Rolex First Time Winner of the season, joining Ha Na Jang and Haru Nomura in achieving LPGA success, he had this to say;

“Still in awe nothing has registered yet. I wanted to talk to my mum, but I was on the verge of tears so I hung up without really her answering the phone.”

“I think it will hit me as soon as I talk to my mum, yeah. I don’t have anything going on right now.”

“I think I’ve been in contention so many times that I’ve kind of learned how to tune it out.”

 “I’m not sure I can repeat it exactly the same if I have a chance next time. I think every year I become a better player and I get a little bit more experience.”

“And I think I’ve gotten a lot out of it every time I go through this, so hopefully next year will be better, the year after that will be better.”

Tied in second place, two shots back at -12 under par  were a pair of South Koreans, Amy Yang, and Mi Jung Hur, both with even par rounds of 71, they were joined by Gerina Piller who could not complete the win, but did start the day with a two shot lead, suffering with a last round +2 over par 73.

Gerina spoke the really tough day, and she is learning all the time;

“I mean, the conditions are pretty tough, so it definitely wasn’t a cakewalk out there.”

 “As you can see, I haven’t really looked at the leaderboard if anyone shot a real low one.”

“The pins were really, really tough today and it’s tough to get them close, especially coming in.”

“But I’ve taken nothing but good things away from this week. That was my first time ever holding the lead, especially for two rounds, so it’s just more confidence that I’m adding to what I already have.”

Leave a Reply

