Zurich Classic of New Orleans. Brian Stuard Gets Maiden PGA Tour Win.

White Dragon GolfZurich Classic

Brian Stuard gets his maiden PGA Tour win at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans  beating Jamie Lovemark on the second hole of a playoff on Monday.

Zurich Classic of New Orleans

Brian Stuard

At the conclusion of 54 holes, shortened tournament due to the terrible weather conditions, three players were tied at the top of the Zurich Classic of New Orleans leaderboard.

Brian Stuard, -3 under 69 today Jamie Lovemark, -4 under 68 and Byeong-Hun An, -7 under 65, they all had 54 hole totals of -15 under par.

Play-off hole was the par five eighteenth, where Byeong-Hun An was eliminated at the first round with a bogey six.

Brian won at the second time around with a birdie 4, to Jaimie’s par 5.

Brian said he was not playing so well;

“I wasn’t playing great. I was just kind of, I don’t know; hanging around.”

“I kind of hung in there all week. I just didn’t get too ahead of myself and just stayed real patient, and it paid off.”

Jaime was a bit miffed at missing out;

“I feel good, not too disappointed.”

“Just a little bummed, but moving on to next week.”

There was some great play going on further down the field with Bobby Wyatt finishing in fourth position after carding -8 under par 64, which included two bogey’s. He was  just one shot off the play-off places and could have won, but three-putts for bogeys on the par-3 14th and par-4 15th cost him dearly;

“I certainly haven’t been in this position a lot, so I think probably some of it is nerves.” 

“I found out I can play with these guys.”

World number one Jason Day, -6 under 66 today,  finished up tied for fifth place with Chris Kirk, -7 under 65, both at -13 under par, and Jason just wanted another round;

“I just wish it was 72 holes, at least I gave myself an opportunity to be around the leaders.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

