Wells Fargo Championship. Steve Wheatcroft and Andrew Loupe Lead 1st Round.

 

White Dragon GolfWells Fargo Championship

Steve Wheatcroft and Andrew Loupe lead 1st round of the Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow Club.

Andrew Loupe and Steve Wheatcroft both shot a 7-under 65 in Round 1 for a share of the lead. (David Cannon/Getty Images)

Steve Wheatcroft and Andrew Loupe / getty images

Steve and Andrew both carded first rounds of -7 under par 65 to lead the after the opening round of the Wells Fargo Championship.

Andrew said he was just trying to keep up with the pace set by Steve:

“Kind of felt like I was trying to keep up the whole time with Steve.”

“We both had it rolling early. Just solid golf for the most part, just looking to keep that momentum going.”

Steve likes Quail Hollow;

“I’ve always loved this place.”

“They’ve lengthened it out a little bit now where it’s a lot harder to make those eagles and birdies, but I’ve always loved this place from the day I got here.”

Anirban Lahiri is in third position at -6  under par following his first round 66.

Sharing fourth are Dewie van der Walt and Kevin Chappell, both with -5 under par 68.

Rory McIlroy is in the field, but looked rusty recording an opening round +1 over par 73, after celebrating his birthday on Wednesday;

“I mean, I would much rather be in red numbers, but I’m much happier now than I was three hours ago, I guess.”

“I just need to go out tomorrow and shoot a good second round, something in the sixties, and get myself back into the tournament going into the weekend.”

“When I go out on that course, I feel like I have to play pretty badly not to shoot a decent score, I guess.”

“It’s a work in progress, but it feels better than what it did at Augusta.”

 “I feel like I can release the club a little bit more.”

“I knew I was going to have to sort of play my way into the next couple of weeks.”

 “With the nine holes I played Tuesday and the pro-am yesterday, I felt it actually feels pretty good.”

“But it’s all different. It’s always different when you get a scorecard in your hand and it really matters.”

Dont forget to enter the FREE draw to win a White Dragon Golf bag, click here for details.

Leave a Reply

